top of page

Tayla Jean Grossberg


Mermaid. Heroine. Actress. Assassin. Princess. Dragon rider.

Tayla Jean Grossberg was all of these things as a child—she had overactive imagination. She grew up on a game ranch in South Africa, among animals such as leopards, buffalo, zebras, and giraffes.

She expanded her horizons by traveling to America and Europe. Her experiences, the people she meets, the places she visits, and the animals she loves inspire her to write novels. Now Tayla spends her time reading, writing, and continuing her crazy adventures.

The only thing she can’t do is reach the top shelf.

You can connect with Tayla on social media:

  • Instagram (@tayla.jean.grossberg)

  • TikTok (@taylajeangrossberg)

She’d love to hear from you!




Cry of the Shifters (The Silver Kingdom, Book 1)

ISBN-13: 978-1-949428-05-6 (Paperback)

ISBN-13: 978-1-949428-06-3 (Kindle)

There is Magic in the kingdom. And it is forbidden. There are shifters in the kingdom. And they too are forbidden. They are hunted, and dying.

In a sleepy village, a girl awakens on her sixteenth birthday without any knowledge of who she is, where she is, or why she is. She knows only that she is stronger and faster than most. She is fierce and she is fearless. She is unlike anyone else in the kingdom.

Who is Caitlin Wilde?

She is determined to know. She goes on a quest for answers, joined by a young man-wolf hiding a shadowed past and a fabled hunter-destroyer of Magic who has a gentle heart.

What they seek will change their lives and the lives of the people in the Silver Kingdom forever.




Secret of the Castle (The Silver Kingdom, Book 2)

ISBN-13: 978-1-949428-09-4 (Paperback)

ISBN-13: 978-1-949428-10-0 (Kindle)​

Caitlin and Rafe dream of a fairy-tale life together. But Sky Castle is no place for happy-ever-afters.


For Caitlin is being stalked by the relentless assassin Black Blade, and Rafe’s secret puts him at risk of death at the hands of the hunter Dylan and his vengeance-seeking father and aunt. And while Caitlin’s parents work to rebuild their ravaged lives, her little sister Maggie harbors hopes of becoming a great lady of the royal court.


But all is not as it seems at the seat of the Silver Kingdom.


There are monsters in the castle. There are things that dwell in the dark: something crawling around in the deep, dank tunnels, crazed and savage; red-cloaked beings, unfeeling, unthinking, and unnatural, some with blades for fingers; a creature with burning eyes, iron hooves, too many teeth, and an insatiable hunger. And then there are the killers who sit on the throne.


Deep in the bowels of Sky Castle lies the key to Caitlin’s tortured past—and the horrible revelation that she just might be the most terrifying monster of them all.




King of the Witches (The Silver Kingdom, Book 3)

ISBN-13: 978-1-949428-11-7 (Paperback)

ISBN-13: 978-1-949428-12-4 (Kindle)​

There are witches in the kingdom...


Caitlin is angry. Everyone she loves is dead or gone, except for Dylan, and her uncontrollable temper targets even him. Then everything changes when the king of the Forevermore Kingdom calls on them for help in solving a series of crimes.

The duo find life in the Forevermore Kingdom to be a sharp contrast to that in the Silver Kingdom. Caitlin makes friends for the first time: Harley, a prisoner who sees ghosts, and Asher, the captain of the guards who takes Caitlin under his wing. But Dylan doesn’t fit in. He doesn’t trust anyone and fears an impending war between the two kingdoms. To make matters worse, Rafe arrives.

There are witches in the kingdom, who wield powerful Magic. There are hell horses, who are almost as angry as Caitlin. There are String, matter-eating worms that fall from the sky. Then there is the truth about the feared Witch King.

In Starlit Castle, Caitlin discovers the truth buried deep beneath layers of lies. Someone is working to bring Magic back to the Silver Kingdom, and Caitlin is more important than she knows. Is she fated to become Magic’s most powerful weapon in a war between the kingdoms? Is she fated to bring death and misery to those she loves? And just who is Caitlin Wilde?




Lone Wolf (The Silver Kingdom, Prequel)

ISBN-13: 978-1-949428-13-1 (Paperback)

ISBN-13: 978-1-949428-14-8 (Kindle)​

There are shifters in Southpaw.

And witches and many other Magic folk—and they are all in hiding. They seek a life of peace, a sanctuary where they can raise their families. The safety of home and the freedom to live openly. But does such a place exist outside their most cherished dreams?

Because there are also hunters in Southpaw, tracking and killing the Magic folk. Out of fear. Out of hate. Out of ignorance.

After the brutal massacre of their kin, the Grey family of wolf-shifters retreats to their mansion tucked away in a forest by a lake, where they find a separate peace. But that peace is soon shattered, and young Rafe follows his cousins deep into the woods where he discovers the seeds of an uprising. An army of witches and shifters has formed to ignite a revolution, a rebellion to end the rule of the wicked King Leonard and thus herald a new Age of Magic.

But can Rafe trust the leaders of this budding rebellion? Or are their true intentions far less noble, far less honorable?

This is the story of a boy struggling to define himself, to find his own path, in a world divided by differences, where the only unifying principle is violence. This is the story of a boy fighting for the freedom to be who he wishes and to live as he chooses. This is the story of Rafe. Before Caitlin. Before the bloodbath.

bottom of page